For One Trembling Moment

86cfb9230c3dd20380033048296cc96e

For one trembling moment I thought that I felt

         Another’s heart ,

                  That beat like mine.

Joy warmed my face for the first time

         In endless eons.

I stood proud and ventured

         Into the harsh light of a

                  Stranger’s stare.

Then your scales poked through your smooth,

         Empty lies, where they were hidden

                  Under that empty smile.

Leaving me alone in the light.

Leave a Reply

